Praying for a sign

I was listening to a Christian song that I like, but the rapper (DMX) stated in the song “Lord, give me a sign!”.  I remember stating the same thing when I was a theist, and not just me but others of the prayer circle I belonged to.  It is ironic that a god that supposedly knows all (omniscient) needs to be prodded to give the believer a sign, which never really materializes.  But believers are ready willing and able to see anything that conforms to their desire as a sign from a god as plausible as Santa Claus.  Fortunately I woke up to see through this facade and fiction.

It is also very disrespectful, if god existed, to tell him/her, to produce a sign, when he has ordered humans to just believe and not be doubters like Thomas was.  In other words, the believer should never utter this and should just believe and that’s it, no more, besides god already knows. 

Clearly this is ridiculous.  God is incapable of producing anything that humans can’t bring about themselves, thus it is just one of the points negating his existence.